The Media Event of Osama Bin Laden

I have awoken to news of Osama Bin Laden’s death and as I watch the celebrations of my fellow Americans in D.C. and in New York from my apartment in Italy I can only be more thankful for digital media. This event is not only a major day for Americans but undoubtedly as the day continues on and the news spreads to farther reaches of the world, the global reaction of Osama Bin Laden’s death will continue to be reported on for days to come. Thankfully enough with the prevalence and globalization of media, I am able to stay connected with this event and watch the consequences unfold as if I were in the states myself. As I watch President Obama’s announcement I can only imagine the reaction of those outside American borders and how this news will now change the topic of discussion in their own countries.

    • lpetrucelli
    • May 2nd, 2011

    I agree, social media has had a significant influence on the spread of the news of osama’s death. The first thing I do in the morning, before checking e-mail, is check facebook. I woke up this morning to my minifeeds filled with profile changes to american flags and people’s status’s talking about america. I even had the luxury of watching videos on youtube of riots that occurred at my home university. I felt as if I was at home on this monumental day with my friends.

    I found an article that also makes me wonder what would 9/11 have been life given our ability to use the social media that is accessible to us today

    http://www.thenewsgals.com/donald-trump-vs-obamas-birth-certificate/1111/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

